about us

A very warm welcome to our school, of which we are very proud. We value enormously the support of our parents and encourage them to spend as much time with their children at school as possible. We strive to provide the students with a rich educational experience, in a safe, happy and innovative environment. We are committed to handing on the Catholic Faith and strive for academic excellence. The atmosphere is very friendly and children are always encouraged to do their best, whether in class, at sport or on the playground. We are lucky at St Xavier’s to have a modern, well-equipped school where classroom resources are kept up to date. We have invested in IT resourcing, with a modern computer lab, Chromebooks and laptops in the primary grades and iPads in use across all classes. Every classroom is equipped with an interactive whiteboard.

St Xavier’s School continues the fine tradition established by the Sisters of Mercy in 1879 of providing high quality affordable education to the children of Gunnedah and district. Catering for children from Kindergarten through to Year 6 and with a current enrolment of 360 students, the school provides an outstanding education where children are nurtured in a caring Christian community.

A very warm welcome to our school, of which we are very proud. We value enormously the support of our parents and encourage them to spend as much time with their children at school as possible. We strive to provide the students with a rich educational experience, in a safe, happy and innovative environment. We are committed to handing on the Catholic Faith and strive for academic excellence. The atmosphere is very friendly and children are always encouraged to do their best, whether in class, at sport or on the playground. We are lucky at St Xavier’s to have a modern, well-equipped school where classroom resources are kept up to date. We have invested in IT resourcing, with a modern computer lab, Chromebooks and laptops in the primary grades and iPads in use across all classes. Every classroom is equipped with an interactive whiteboard.

St Xavier’s School continues the fine tradition established by the Sisters of Mercy in 1879 of providing high quality affordable education to the children of Gunnedah and district. Catering for children from Kindergarten through to Year 6 and with a current enrolment of 360 students, the school provides an outstanding education where children are nurtured in a caring Christian community.

our faith

St Xavier’s is a Catholic School.  The Catholic ethos permeates every part of our day where ‘religion’ is not just a catechetic lesson, but the theme by which we run our school using the values taught in the Gospels.  Additionally, each child enrolled takes part in a daily Religious Education lesson. 

Our Parish Priest, Father John McHugh, works closely with the staff and parents to ensure the children at St Xavier’s receive a well-planned, sequential and comprehensive Religious Education.

Our School Religious Education Co-ordinator, Mrs Sharon John is always available for parents to talk to and to answer any questions and to ensure that St Xavier’s does live up to its commitment of spreading the Good News.

St Xavier’s aims to ensure a safe, caring Christian environment which enhances the personal development of all students.  When a child is enrolled at St Xavier’s, the care and guidance of the child is of utmost importance.

staff

The Staff at St Xavier’s are employed by the Catholic Diocese of Armidale and are responsible to the Principal and to the Catholic Schools Office. They are encouraged to continually update their qualifications and keep in touch with current trends in education. Accordingly, our School has four Pupil Free Staff Development Days a year.

Jennifer Honner

Principal

jhonner@arm.catholic.edu.au

Leisa Shortis

Leader of Pedagodgy

lshortis@arm.catholic.edu.au

Paul Kokegei

Yr 6

pkokegei@arm.catholic.edu.au

 

Janine Kokegei

Yr 5

jkokegei@arm.catholic.edu.au

Scott Seymour

Yr 3

sseymour@arm.catholic.edu.au

Bridgit Murphy

Yr 2

bmurphy3@arm.catholic.edu.au

Marnie Waterford

Kinder

mwaterford@arm.catholic.edu.au

Trudy Paul

RFF - PE

tpaul@arm.catholic.edu.au

Leanne Herden

Assistant Principal

lherden1@arm.catholic.edu.au

Julianne van Dorst

Additional Needs

jvandorst@arm.catholic.edu.au

Meghan Jaeger

Yr 6

mjaeger@arm.catholic.edu.au

Simon Thurbon

Yr 3

sthurbon@arm.catholic.edu.au

Katrina McCumstie

Yr 1

kmccumst@arm.catholic.edu.au

Karen Guy

Literacy and Numeracy Intervention/Release

kguy@arm.catholic.edu.au

Karen McElroy

RFF- Health

kmcelroy@arm.catholic.edu.au

Amanda Swain

Librarian

aswain@arm.catholic.edu.au

Administration

Jeni Muller and Alanna Gallagher

admin@stxaviersgunnedah.catholic.edu.au

Sharon John

Kindergarten and RE Coordinator

sjohn@arm.catholic.edu.au

Angela Jensen

Yr 5

ajensen@arm.catholic.edu.au

Richard McEvoy

Yr 4

rmcevoy@arm.catholic.edu.au

Sarah Clift

Yr 2

sclift1@arm.catholic.edu.au

Brittany Reynolds

Yr 1

breynol1@arm.catholic.edu.au

Rachael Field

AEA

rfield1@arm.catholic.edu.au

Heather Sloan

Yr 1 and RFF - music

hsloan@arm.catholic.edu.au

CONTACT US

The School

Principal, Jen Honner, St Xavier's Primary School
PO Box 42
Bloomfield St, Gunnedah NSW 2380

P: (02) 6742 1136
F: (02) 6742 2929

admin@stxaviersgunnedah.catholic.edu.au

The Parish

Fr John McHugh, St Joseph's Catholic Church
P O Box 29
346 Conadilly St, Gunnedah NSW 2380

P: (02) 6742 0200
F: (02) 6742 5354

Mass times: 6:00pm Saturday & 8:30am Sunday